top of page

Becca highlighter-Review


Unless you've been living under a rock for the past couple years, you've most likely heard of the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfectors. They've been raved about by almost everyone on YouTube, so I thought I'd see what the hype was about.

Admittedly, most of the hype is about Champagne Pop, which is not the shade I got. Since I am so pale, Champagne Pop just wouldn't look good on me. Still wanting to test out one of these highlighters though, I got one that I was certain would suit me, Pearl. Pearl is a pale, almost white shade, perfect for my skin tone.

While I was on holiday in America, I decided to try on this highlighter in Sephora, and I loved it. Straight away I said I'd buy it. I looked around at a few more things, before I decided to buy my things and go.

It wasn't until I got home and went to put it on that I noticed something wasn't right. I put my brush in, ready to airbrush this over my face. Nothing. I tried again. Absolutely nothing. This confused me, because the woman in the store just dipped the brush in and it was fine, but for me it just was not working.

Since it wasn't working with a brush, I decided to try to put it on with my fingers, in hope that maybe it would work. When I dipped my finger in, I noticed that it didn't feel right. It wasn't powdery at all. That's when I realised, the woman gave me the poured instead of the powder.

You're probably thinking it'll work the same. No. For me it really didn't. While the powder looked really pretty on me, the poured version just wasn't doing it. It looks a load of sparkle on my face, and I find it hard to blend out.

This is a swatch of it on my face. As you can see, it's quite glittery and I feel like it just makes me look very sweaty rather than glowy.

Maybe I'm applying it wrong, I don't know. But for me, this highlighter didn't work. I was gutted when I realised, as that was about £30 down the drain. I've probably used it about 5 times, as it never really appeals to me. Maybe you guys love it, and it's your favourite highlighter, but to me it just didn't work.

So, is it worth the hype? In my opinion, no. There are way better highlighters for way cheaper. It didn't provide me much of a glazed donut glow, which was disappointing. I never thought I'd say that since so many people swear by it, but for me it wasn't a massive hit. It's difficult to blend, and it's just too sparkly.

Hopefully this little review helped, and I didn't bore you too much with my story! I'd love to hear what you guys think about this highlighter. Remember, what works for me might not work for you and vice verca. Bye xx

bottom of page