top of page

ABH Liquid Lipstick-Review


The Anastasia Beverly Hills liquid lipsticks are very popular, so while I was in America I thought I would get one. After a long, hard, debate with myself, I finally got the colour Sad Girl.

Sad Girl is described on the ABH website as a metallic black cherry. I would describe this colour as a deep plum with pink microglitter. Although the glitter is very prominent in the tube, it's a bit less noticeable on the lips, only seen when the light hits it, which makes the shade a lot more wearable.

The liquid lipstick is one of the least drying lipsticks I've tried, it's very comfortable in the lips. However, it does transfer but it's not noticeable on the lips. I combat this by putting loose translucent powder over it, which completely stops it from transferring.

I find it to be very pigmented, however it is slightly patchy on the first coat so usually two coats are needed, which also nicely deepens the shade. However, this is common with liquid lipsticks of similar shades, and this one is actually one of the least patchy that I've seen.

This is a swatch that I did. As you can see, the pink microglitter is barely noticeable, but it adds a nice pink sparkle when the light hits it. This was only one coat, so it was still a bit patchy but not majorly patchy.

It retails for around £18 ($20) however, it is extremely difficult to purchase in the UK. I believe that although it is quite pricey for a liquid lipstick, it is definitely worth it to have in your collection if you love darker lips, as it is such a unique colour.

Overall, I think this lipstick is really good if you're into darker lips. I can't say much about the other shades, but I personally feel like there are cheaper brands that do similar shades. However, Sad Girl really has nothing else like it, which is one of the things to consider when thinking about what shade to purchase.

bottom of page